NMD4C Receives Network Grant from CIHR-IMHA and Funding from MDC

We are excited to share that The Neuromuscular Disease Network for Canada (NMD4C) has received a network grant from the Canadian Institutes of Health Research – Institute of Musculoskeletal Health and Arthritis (CIHR-IMHA), providing funding of $200 000 per year for five years – with matched funding from Muscular Dystrophy Canada (MDC) –  to strengthen the care, research and treatment of neuromuscular diseases (NMDs) for all Canadians. The new grant brings together an expanded group of clinicians, scientists and patient representatives under the leadership of Dr Hanns Lochmüller (Children’s Hospital of Eastern Ontario) and Dr Homira Osman (MDC).

“Since 2020, NMD4C has made remarkable progress in uniting Canada’s neuromuscular community. In these rare diseases it’s crucial that we work together, and we’re delighted that we have grown to more than 500 members spanning multiple disciplines, sectors, and areas of expertise. The network has made tremendous strides in building capacity through training and education, providing leadership and advocacy to improve access to approved novel treatments, and strengthening research resources and infrastructure. But there’s still so much more to be done. New scientific challenges and opportunities mean that networking across Canada and the globe is even more important. This new funding will allow us to expand our supportive, collaborative, networked community of neuromuscular stakeholders, bringing together an unparalleled concentration of NMD expertise to provide a Canada-wide platform for communication, collaboration, and best-practice sharing. We’re very grateful to CIHR-IMHA and to MDC for the funding that allows us to continue our work. We have some really exciting plans for this next phase of the network, particularly for our young doctors and researchers, and we can’t wait to get started.”

– Dr Hanns Lochmüller


Read the full press release here


Read next...

We are hiring a new clinical research coordinator!

Lochmüller Research Group Hiring Clinical Trial Coordinator

Due to recent funding success and expansion of our clinical trials team we have a need for a highly motivated Research Coordinator that will assist...
First participant screened in global CMS natural history study

The Ottawa Neuromuscular Centre screens first participant in the world for a multinational congenital myasthenic syndrome natural history study

The neuromuscular centre at The Ottawa Hospital is excited to announce that we are the first site globally to screen a participant for the multinational...
Copy of Lochmuller Lab - PhD opportunity (LLab)

Lochmüller Lab seeking PhD student

The Lochmüller Research Group are seeking a highly motivated PhD student to join our team at the Childrens Hospital of Eastern Ontario Research Institute (CHEO...
New Publication - Leading global expert in DMD and bone health Dr. Leanne Ward publishes systematic review and grading of evidence for biphosphonate therapy in glucocorticoid-treated patients with Duchenne Muscular Dystrophy in Neurology, with Dr. Hanns Lochmüller as a co-author.

New Publication: Bisphosphonates in Glucocorticoid-Treated Patients with Duchenne Muscular Dystrophy: A Systematic Review and Grading of the Evidence

Leading global expert in Duchenne Muscular Dystrophy (DMD) and bone health Dr. Leanne Ward publishes systematic review and grading of evidence for bisphosphonate therapy in...
text reding new clinical trial opportunities

New Clinical Trial Opportunities for Children and Adults in Ottawa

Our clinical research team is excited to share five new clinical trials activated across both pediatric and adult sites in Ottawa, CHEO and TOH. We...
Dr. Andreas Roos receiving award on WMS 2023 stage, with text reading Congratulaions Dr. Andreas Roos, WMS President's Prize for Emerging Myologist of the Year 2023.

Dr. Andreas Roos wins Emerging Myologist of the Year Prize at WMS 2023

We are excited to congratulate Dr. Andreas Roos on winning the World Muscle Society’s (WMS) President’s Prize for Emerging Myologist of the Year!   This award...